My Little Blue Desk

Standard
From etsy.com - Like my blue desk as a kid. Not quite the same, well mine was made of wood, but as similar as I can find.

From etsy.com – Like my blue desk as a kid. Not quite the same, well mine was made of wood, but as similar as I can find.

I’ve been a writer for as long as I can remember. One of my earliest memories of writing is sitting at my little blue school desk at home, surrounded by my mint green bedroom walls, when I was about six years old. Why I had a school desk at home I don’t really know but I was very fond of it and very sad when I outgrew it. I sat there for hours carefully writing by hand a story called ‘Brown Rabbit’. It was a silly story kid’s story, but I loved writing it, and adapting it and changing it as my life experiences grew richer and my understanding of the world developed my story.

I have loved writing ever since, and I’m thoroughly addicted to creating worlds out of words, so addicted that I remember when I lived in America getting teased at school for using my free time at the beginning of the day not to sit and gossip with the other kids, but to sit and write my stories. I didn’t have my little blue desk with me as it was an ocean away back in England, but I had my imagination.

This blog is about writing, how I have found joy in bringing characters alive that otherwise would only live in my head, but through using words I can bring to other people’s lives as well. It is about how I have come to the realisation that I am a writer, that I always have been and that I always will be, and as I discover myself as I develop, I should never forget where I came from and I that I should never forget the joy of sitting at my little blue desk.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

