Being Offended

Standard

Think before you react. (Not to just this post by the way; to everything)

Druid Life

“It’s now very common to hear people say, ‘I’m rather offended by that.’ As if that gives them certain rights. It’s actually nothing more… than a whine. ‘I find that offensive.’ It has no meaning; it has no purpose; it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. ‘I am offended by that.’ Well, so fucking what.” Stephen Fry.

There are things we should all be offended by, because they are innately offensive: Injustice, cruelty, inequality of opportunity, abuses of power and system.  We should be offended by people who refuse to listen to reason, ignore the evidence, act based on blind prejudice and who are driven by hate or destructive levels of greed. All too often we seem, collectively, to let this stuff pass us by in preference for taking offence over minor perceived slights.

The thing that has driven me most round the bend in the last…

View original post 843 more words

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

