Film Review – A Muppet Christmas Carol

Standard

a muppet christmas carol

I often get described as a Scrooge. Fine, I admit it I’m not a big lover of Christmas, I prefer Boxing Day (26th December for those of you that don’t know), generally because there is less hype about that day. I don’t get excited in the run up to Christmas, because in truth it is just one day and the months of preparation beforehand is an anti-climax.

That’s why I wait to only get excited on Christmas Day itself, which admittedly only my family get to see, so a lot of people don’t believe it. I get to spend time with them, I get Christmas dinner (and the excitement of knowing I have Boxing Day leftover dinner yet to enjoy) and I also get to legitimately watch one of my all time favourite films: A Muppet Christmas Carol.

I am not a huge fan of Christmas films, but if I was told I could only ever watch one of them again for the rest of my life, it would just have to be the Muppets, no doubt about it. The film is a brilliant representation of what Charles Dickens ‘A Christmas Carol’ would have looked like had he known Jim Henson.

The book is a bit grim in places, as much of Dicken’s work is, but the message behind the story, the morality of the tale, should never be forgotten. The good and generous spirit of Christmas should be remembered the rest of the year as well. Maybe that’s why Christmas isn’t overtly extra special for me, because I do try and live like that all year around.

The adaption with the Muppets though, is just pure comedy genius as well. Gonzo as Charles Dickens with Rizzo (there for the food) is just a match made in heaven, because only Gonzo of all the Muppets could pull off being the slightly arrogant omnipotent author who also makes the whole experience of the story into a thrill seeking adventure. Life is an adventure, and while most of us won’t be hooking onto Michael Caine via a lasso, we each have our moments and that the ones who define us should not be forgotten.

gonzo and lasso

Which is exactly what Scrooge has tried to do; he has buried the joy of Christmas when he met Belle, because of the pain of the Christmas he lost her. Scrooge though is not as unredeemable character like most people imagination, because it doesn’t take him that long to come around to the idea that life can be wonderful even if you have nothing. Because that is what his entire life has been about, being in pain because he had lost something, which he never recovered from. How can you not sympathise with Scrooge who is simply in pain and isn’t all that good at dealing with it?

The reason he doesn’t want Tiny Tim to die, is because he knows the pain the that would be felt if he did, because he has felt that sort of pain all his life and he want to save Bob from feeling it, because he can.

He wants to donate to charity because he can.

And inspired by the film’s funniest moment, he wants his bookkeepers to feel the heat wave because he can.

heatwave this is my island in the sun

So I always ask myself all year around is what can I do for others, because I want to and I can?

Leave a Reply

