Notes on Life No. 23 – Regret

Standard

I have never believed that you could or should live your life without regrets. You might regret having an extra snooze in bed and miss your bus to work; it is a lesson to you for the future but not a one to dwell on.

I cannot believe those who say they have no regrets in life. To me that implies they are perfect and super-human; that they have never made mistakes. How could you ever possibly learn about the world and yourself without error?

Nobody is perfect; people out there have lost contact with great friends; people out there have taken lovers that turned out to be mistakes; some out there have caused emotional pain to others in their lives. I very much believe that having regret is more a part of being human than the denial you are told you should have in order to perfect your existence.

I think it is wrong to say that you should live your without regret; how very selfish you might become if you carry on like that; how uneducated you would be emotionally without the experience of regret.

Instead of proclaiming the denial of regret, you should instead learn to live with it. Don’t dwell on it, but don’t ever forget it either, for you would forget everything you learnt about your actions as well.

After all we are not super-human; the quicker we learn that I very much have faith that we would all be much more content. ‘To err is to be human…’

At no point though do I also believe that to learn to live with regret is easy. Denying regret is probably easier; perhaps that is why it is the standing advice on the matter since humans like the simple solutions to problems in general.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

