The Key to a Great Story – How?

Standard

snoopy-writer

So far in my Key to a Great Story blog series, I have discussed Character, Plot, World Building and in my last post I summarised how to use those three and figure out ‘when’ in your timeline you should set your story.

I have now reached ‘How? which in comparison is going to be a lot more generic. A lot of people might discuss the structure of a story as part of the ‘how to write your story’, but I talked a lot about this in Plot, which I recommend you go to if you are looking for structural assistance.

I didn’t discuss the ‘three-act’ structure at any point nor do I have graphs plotting how your build the tension, but that is because I don’t find them useful to everybody, and I don’t consider them myself. Given that this is a blog series on how I approach writing, I wouldn’t be able to explain properly how to use them and there are plenty of posts by other writers on the web that do, so I suggest you hunt them out.

The questions that I do ask myself when it comes to ‘How?’ include:

  • Paper vs Computer – Planning, Writing, Editing
  • Perspective – 1st vs 3rd
  • Style – Mixing up different written forms

As you can see the questions I ask myself about how to tell my story are quite limited. However like with structure above, where I’ve already explained that I answer those questions in plot, a lot of my answers for ‘How?’ come from knowing ‘Who?’ as well. Without that I wouldn’t know the answers to perspective and to the style either.

What I’m going to start with in this series though is a piece looking into the actual physical act of writing – Paper vs. Computer.

 

 

 

 

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

