The Liebster Award

Standard

liebsteraward-roses-tag

First and foremost a huge thanks to Kelly from thebookshelfblog for nominating me for the Liebster Award. I’ve had a lot of fun answering her questions, and I very rarely talk about myself on this blog, it’s nice to have been given the chance to open up a little bit more.

The Liebster Award is an award for bloggers. It helps to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world!

Okay, so here are the rules:

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own

 

So here are my answers to the questions Kelly asked me:

If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?

Fantasy, no question about that. I have read it forever and I write it now. I love it and I wouldn’t be who I was now without it.

What are your blogging goals for 2016?

I’ve drawn up a plan for ‘Young Writer’s Review’, particularly in relation to films that are being released this year that will expand my fandoms. I also have some plans for ‘A Key to a Great Story’ and exploring how to expand upon that, but I haven’t made any concrete plans yet.

What is your favourite book and why?

This question has had many different answers over the years; Benedict Jacka and Trudi Canavan have been go to authors for years; Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings once took up so much of my heart I couldn’t find room for other works.

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley once had the honour of being my favourite as it was the first book I read that didn’t have a happy ending.

I think though a book I will always go back to and read again and again is Little Lord Fauntleroy by Francis Hodgson Burnett. It’s not her best known work, but it is pure escapism. It is a lovely book about a lovely child who makes the world a better place

How did you come up with your blog name?

At the time I created my blog, A Young Doctor’s Notebook had been produced starring Daniel Radcliffe and John Hamm, and it inspired the title. What I base it on though is how an artist I know used a sketchbook to work out her ideas for larger pieces. The work within it isn’t perfect, they are examples of a work in progress, which is where I always seem to be at with my writing. The subsection Young Writer’s Review came about after I started to utilise the skills I had learnt at a masterclass on writing reviews.

What was your favourite subject at school and why?

History; I find the past infinitely fascinating. I loved it in school, and I now have two degrees in it. I especially like medieval Europe history and the beginnings of Europe exploring the rest of the world, with an emphasis on the luxury commodities they encountered, such as spices.

What are your favourite hobbies? (other than reading hehe)

Writing naturally, but I also love crocheting and swimming. I also like baking and cooking –  the swimming developed as a hobby after the baking and cooking started to have an effect.

Which author inspires you the most?

J.R.R Tolkien: his approach to world building and the creation of the Middle Earth histories and languages was what first inspired me to be a writer.

Tell me a random fact about you!

I once did some sound bites for a Chinese Radio station. I don’t know if they ever got used, but that was certainly a random day when I got asked by a student who lived at the accommodation I worked at whether I’d be willing to do it.

What was the first book you ever read?

My Dad used to read Roald Dahl to me as a child to help teach me how to read. The one I have the strongest memory of is Matilda.

What is your guilty pleasure?

At the minute buying new crochet patterns and yarn.

If someone wrote a story about your life what would the title be?

The Constant Northern Dreamer – I have been imaginative all my life and I’m very proud to be from the North East of England. I’ve carried that identity with me wherever I’ve lived in the world.

So that’s a little bit more about me here are my nominees:

I have an eclectic taste in blogs, some of these are reviews, some poetry and some prose.

https://byfordsbooks.wordpress.com/ – Byford’s Books

https://flamingcolours.wordpress.com/ – Flaming Colours

https://jwkurtz.wordpress.com/ – J.W. Kurtz

https://silverscreensavant.wordpress.com/ – The Silver Screen Savant

https://melaniemoxon.wordpress.com/ – Melanie Moxon

https://mardanneousuperb.wordpress.com/ – MardanneouSuberb Writing

https://unremittingpoet.wordpress.com/ – Inevitable Mind

https://floatingepiphany.wordpress.com/ – Floating Epiphany

https://franklenstein.wordpress.com/  – Franklenstein

https://movieauthority.wordpress.com/ – Movie Authority

https://citystatewritings.wordpress.com/ – The Dystopian Nation of City-State

Questions for my Nominees

  1. If you could only read one genre for the rest of your life, what genre would you choose?
  2. What is your favourite book and why?
  3. Which writer inspires you the most?
  4. What was the first book you ever read?
  5. Who is your favourite character from any book, movie, tv show etc. and why?
  6. What is your favourite literary/poetic quote?
  7. What’s your favourite movie?
  8. Which book/poem/tv show/movie do you wish you’d written?
  9. Ebook, audiobook, hardcover or paperback?
  10. Beyond blogging, what other hobbies do you have?
  11. Tell me a random fact about you!
About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

One response »

Leave a Reply

