New Year’s Resolutions – Book Tag

Standard

untitled-1

I got tagged by Tangling Thoughts to do this post and I have loved every single minute of it. Thank you.

It’s nice just to sit and think about books briefly rather than to have to discuss for a review. I might have to do this sort of thing more often, so here goes, it might be february now, but here is my New Year’s Resolutions  – Book Tag:

Get in shape – name a book that doesn’t quite fit on your shelf correctly

I have an encyclopaedia about the history of swords (for writing research). The book isn’t particular tall, but it is long, and it doesn’t quite fit on any of my bookcases unless I stack it spine down.

Eat healthy – name a book you feel was good for you to read

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that can’t stop talking by Susan Cain. No other book as help me to release who I am as a person more than this one. All my life I’ve been called shy and unsociable; I thought there was something wrong with me when I used to scream at people to leave me alone because I was lashing out when I’d been with people too long and I couldn’t cope any more. Reading this book taught me the difference between introverts and extroverts, and that there is nothing wrong with me at all. It was a revelation and I recommend it to all, introvert or not, so that people can get educated.

Read more – name a book you keep telling yourself to read but haven’t yet

1984 by George Orwell; unlike most people I didn’t study it at school and even though I went through a classic dystopia phase as a teen, this book never made it onto my shelf.

Quit smoking – name a book you kept going back to even though you had finished it

Poems that make grown men cry, edited by Anthony and Ben Holden. I absolutely love this book. I discovered some new favourites and it was wonderful reading the reasons why people love the poems that they choose.

Save more money – name a book you got for a really good price

Not a single book, but more of a series from the Star Wars universe. They are Middle Grade books by Jude Watson, called Jedi Apprentice, Jedi Quest and The Last of the Jedi. There must be nearly forty of these books, and most of them I picked up on the interest for a penny.

Be more organized – how do you organize your bookshelf?

By genre and then by the alphabet, apart from my history section, which includes several weird shaped books that I just have to fit into place.

Be punctual – shortest time and longest time it took you to read a book

I can read any of the Sookie Stackhouse books in less than three hours, and there was one time when I was really very ill that I read the entire series (at that point consisting of ten books) in about three and a half days. I’m quite a fast reader in general; as a teen I read Lord of the Rings (all three plus appendices in three days) and the Silmarillion which is notoriously hard to read in a couple of days.

Longest time to read a book is hard, because the only reason it would take longer to read is if I was busy doing other things and I couldn’t read it. I might be only read a few pages as I commute to work during the week, but then I’d finish it on the weekend, usually over a couple of cups of tea (big cups admittedly).

The only book I can remember struggling to read is Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke, but that might have been the book itself and the use of footnotes that threw me. That and it was heavy so I didn’t carry back and forth from school.

Go out more – what book isolated you from reality?

Harry Potter, because I started to read and write fan fiction for it, which I have never done for any other fandom (apart from Doctor Who but that was to practise writing scripts).

Be unique – what was your favourite book of 2015?

This is hard as I diversified my reading last year and tried new things including Everyday by David Levithan, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (which I admit came out a few years ago now), The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris and Colorless Tsukuru and his Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami. I also discovered the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. I had a great years reading, much of it helping me to fight my depression, especially Benedict Jacka’s books.

Be more personal – what book are you most looking forward to this year?

Burned by Benedict Jacka; as I said above the books helped me through a right time last year and I can’t wait for the next instalment.

Really, resolutions – which book do you promise to read during the year?

I grew up with my Dad’s collection of Cold War spy thrillers by the likes of Robert Ludlum and John le Carre but I never read them, and I would like to finally say that I have.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Film Review – The Bourne Identity | A Young Writer's Notebook

  2. Pingback: New Year’s Resolutions – Book Tag 2017 | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

