TV Review – Doctor Who (Series 9)

Standard

-

I suppose series 9 started for me with ‘Last Christmas’ and ended with ‘The Husbands of River Song’, both of which were really great Christmas specials. I especially loved the one with River Song, as it was lovely to see the Doctor and River together alone for once. Still haven’t beaten The Voyage of the Damned, but they certainly aren’t forgettable like some of the specials have been in the past.

Series 9 overall was a massive step up for me in comparison to series 8. I just much preferred the tone of the series, and I especially loved Maisie Williams as Me. She was just amazing from start to finish, and I love the idea of her character and what she became because the Doctor had showed her kindness and saved her life. It was amazing to see just how talented an actress she really is, and for her to spread her wings away from Arya for a while.

I also quite liked the tendency in this series to have two-part episodes. It allowed for longer and more complex stories to be told over a couple of weeks, rather than only in forty-five minutes. There was a lot though, and I think I would have liked more stand-alone episodes. Overall I loved the series, and while there were a couple of episodes that I wasn’t all that fussed, I did enjoy Capaldi as the Doctor a lot more than I had the previous series.

Series Highlights

I really loved the series opening, The Magician’s Apprentice and The Witch’s Familiar just purely because Michelle Gomez was back and on great form. The Doctor with Davros as well was interesting to watch, as it was a chance to see a different side to their relationship.

I also really loved Sarah Dollard’s ‘Face the Raven’, as it reminded me a lot of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere and even Diagon Alley.

The very best episode of the series though has to be Heaven Sent by Steven Moffat, which just pulled on every heart string I have as the Doctor slowly realises the truth of where he has found himself. Utter brilliance.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

