Update: Resolutions and Momentum

Standard

Resolutions1-712x378 (1)

Last time I wrote about my resolutions, it was because I had discovered a way to maintain my momentum by breaking the activity’s down into smaller and manageable chunks.

I equally don’t beat myself up about having a setback. I just start again the next day.

I’m re-visiting my post today on Maintaining Resolution Momentum because I woke up this morning disappointed with myself because in my dreams I’d eaten some chocolate and broke my current streak of not having any sugar.┬áNeedless to say it took me a few moments to realise it wasn’t real and that my streak (admittedly of only a few days) was still intact. That’s helped to motivate me for today

It forced me to have a good think about how well I’m doing and its been quite a boost for me that since the last time I wrote about this topic, I’ve actually been doing better. The exercise that I’d written about last time is still going, and I even have a swimming buddy who pushes me to train harder.

water

I’ve also only been drinking water for the last month, which means I haven’t had tea or coffee. I honestly never thought I could give up caffeine but I feel so much better for it, mainly because my sleeping pattern is now regular. I find it easier to fall asleep and equally to wake up as well. While I’m beginning to desire drinking other things again, I’m not tempted yet to have a cup of tea.

I’ve not eaten crisps (chips to my American readers) for just as long, and I’ve mostly been eating healthy as well. I still slip up with sugar and croissants (which are a major and easily accessible weakness of mine) but I’m getting there with those.┬áI haven’t been beating myself up because I haven’t been able to make it stick. I’m trying and eventually it will work, as long as the sugar withdrawal headache doesn’t nearly knock me out again like it did the last time I cracked.

One of the reasons I’ve been keeping track is because I’ve found a more advanced version of a to-do list that I was writing about the last time. Yes, people, I have found myself an app to help me keep on track.

Habit List has very quickly become the app I use the most on my phone, bar only my Kindle app. I can set daily or frequent habits, like going swimming, drinking only water, and even practising Chinese on a daily basis. It’s even got me writing on a daily basis. I’ve been having a break from the blog for a week or so, but I’ll get a couple of habits set to get me writing for my blog and my stories separately in the next week or so.

3-up-hero

Seriously it is a god-send to me. If you have resolutions that you can break down into smaller manageable tasks, then I highly recommend it.

You never know, the next time I check in with everyone about how my resolutions are going I might have kicked the sugar habit. The croissants I’m not holding out too much hope on if I’m honest.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

