Film Review:The Dark Knight

Standard

20160129142054!Dark_Knight

The Dark Knight is easily my favourite film of Nolan’s trilogy. The writing was superb, the acting was superb and the overall quality of the film-making made it an instant classic when it came out at the cinema.

This film is also the only film of the trilogy where I actually like Batman as a character. However it is very much because of the fact he is up against one of my all time favourite villains. When compared to Heath Ledger’s Joker, of course I’m going to sympathise with Batman.

It is something that I have noticed about myself when it comes to DC characters, especially the heroes; I’m not fond of them, but I will watch them eagerly when they are facing a half decent villain. There was nothing just ‘half-decent’ about the Joker in this film either. Reviewing this film as a writer and as a fanĀ , the Joker is the perfect villain.

The Joker is creepy, sadistic, and when it counts he doesn’t hesitate. As Alfred says, he is a man who wants to watch the world burn, and this film is all about the descend into the chaos that he masterminds. Perhaps ‘masterminds’ is the wrong word, as after all he doesn’t actually have a plan, which is probably what makes it even more brilliant.

I don’t think I’ve ever done such an easy review for a film. While I’m not a massive fan of the character Batman, I do love what a good villain can do to upset normal everyday life. There was so much in this film that was good and could be equally as worthy of discussion, but Heath Ledger was what made this film excellent in my opinion so I’m not going to over complicate things. If you’ve never seen the film, his performance in itself is enough of a reason to give it a try.

The Joker

 

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

Leave a Reply

