Film Review: Hail Caesar!

Standard

HailCaesar470

I will admit that Hail Caesar wasn’t a film I was particularly excited about seeing; I’m not familiar with the work of the Coen Brothers, and the trailer didn’t really sell the film to me. It was very much because of word of mouth and other people being excited that I went to see it at all.

And I have to admit, it was alright. I didn’t leave the cinema with a massive buzz of excitement that I get when I leave a brilliant film, but I enjoyed the film. It was funny, well-acted and I got a very good sense of the characters. I particularly liked Hobie Doyle who was just sweet; he might have been mocked for not being verbally as competent as many desired him to become, but when it really counted he did have his head on straight and proved he was capable as a practical person.

What I also really appreciate about the film is that it is an originally written film; it is not an adaptation or a sequel. Some fans of the Coen Brothers have told me there are lots of things that are similar to their previous films, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t original. I am starting to get a bit sick of going to the cinema and only seeing superhero films, so I’m really grateful that the Coen Brothers can get money to make original films, because it proves that original films can work and it diversifies what comes out of Hollywood.

I mean my growing boredom with comic book films won’t stop me from going and seeing them because I have invested a lot of time into them and there are some I am excited to see, but I have been making a conscious effort of late to go to the cinema and watch films that have nothing to do with superhero or comic books, and where possible aren’t sequels to existing franchises.

Hail Caesar! was one of these films, and I’m really glad I went to see it. It has a great plot, and while it might have dried up a little bit in a couple of places, it was a really good story. It was mysterious, and that mystery was unravelled beautifully as the film progressed, and the film paid a great homage to the golden age of Hollywood.

The script was great; all the loose ends were tied up, and the story left me with me wanting to know that good things happened in the future for the characters I liked. Wanting to know the future of the characters is a great feeling for me to have from a film, because it proves to me that the writers managed to get me to invest in the characters enough to want to know that their endings in the film continues in the same spirit as the film set up for them.

I highly recommend the film, especially if you’re like me and you’re looking for a funny, original film where there isn’t a comic book hero in sight.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Why Zootopia is the most important film of 2016 – a plea from a film lover. | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

