Book (Re)Writing – Admitting the Truth

Standard

book-editing

I have a confession: I have written a book for myself.

Now generally the advice goes that you are supposed to write the book that you want to read, and that is exactly what I have done. I have been telling myself for years that because I want to read it then it is good enough.

That’s only a semi-truth – it is good enough for me as a reader. But I want to be a writer as well.

I will always have a private copy of my own personal book ‘From the Ashes’ to read. That will always exist. It has been in place for over a year now, and has been my writing baby for nearly a decade.

I have drafted and re-drafted, added and added to this book until it was the perfection that I wanted for myself. And all this time I have dreamed of being a writer.

I was kidding myself into thinking I was being a writer simply by just writing. Except when I say ‘writer’ I mean as a career, not just as a hobbyist.

Therefore I have finally come to admit the truth; I need to re-write my book into something other people will want to read as well. I’ve been getting beta-reader comments back recently, and I have been having to face some harsh truths.

The book that is perfect to me isn’t perfect to anybody else.

And this is one of the hardest truths I have ever had to bring myself to admit, and because it is so hard, I am going to have to make myself accountable, and hopefully ensure if anyone else out there is having the same issues, let them know that they are not alone.

It might not be as scheduled as I tend to make Young Writer’s Review, but my latest blog series is going to be Book (Re)Writing and we are going to learn together how to go through and re-write something that you love so that others will love it as well.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

7 responses »

  1. I tried to write a book when I was 22-23. Got rejected by a published, and deservedly so. It was horrible. I tried to rewrite it, got halfway before I got tired of it. I haven’t touched it in 6 years, but it was very educational.

    • I have a feeling this will be for me as well. I’m doing a screenwriting class at the minute, and even just seeing how writing is done in a different style has been opening my eyes.
      It’s a shame you haven’t been back to your book; I have a similar problem with both of my dissertations. They are about topics in history I love but my writing was so terrible I can’t bring myself to read something so bad about something I loved so much.

  2. Thank you for sharing this! I feel I am in the same boat…I have a book almost completed and refined, but the few peer reviews I got require a big shift in the stories voice whicb basically means a re write… I will be actively following your blog for advice! 🙂

    • I have a feeling a lot of people are in the same boat; if you ever have any questions that you think could be a good post to help others, then let me know and we’ll see if we can help each other.

  3. Pingback: Book (Re)Writing – Looking at my own advice | A Young Writer's Notebook

  4. Pingback: Book (Re)writing – How to lose the Plot! | A Young Writer's Notebook

  5. Pingback: Book (Re)Writing – Tougher than I Thought | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

