Book (Re)Writing – Looking at my own advice

Standard

book-editing

So a couple of weeks ago I admitted in my first post on Book (Re)Writing that I had to face the truth and re-write my beloved book into something more than just the book that I have written for myself to read. I came to the conclusion a while back that I needed to do this, but admitting that truth to myself was one of the most heart-breaking things I have ever had to go through.

Making myself accountable to others via the power of blogging as well, has put me in a position that I have never been in before.

I don’t talk about my own writing very much. I am a very private person and my writing is very personal to me. The voices in my head are the characters that I have created, moulded, and changed over time into people that are as real to me as the colleagues I work with on a daily basis and the family I have known and loved my entire life.

I have been thinking quite a bit about how to make myself accountable via blogging, because the decision to blog my way through the re-writing process was made on the spur of the moment. I had hoped it would prompt me into getting on with it. Life isn’t that easy; I’m busy at work and my life is crazy at the moment. I’ve been struggling with depression for a long while, and at the moment that has taken from me my love of reading because of one bad book that’s turned me away from my escape. Thinking about my own has not been my top priority.

I’ve had the weekend to myself and I’ve been using it to procrastinate from thinking about the book by instead thinking about a short film I have to write in the coming week for a screen-writing class. I’ve also been watching romantic comedies that I grew up loving, while crocheting a massive blanket that takes my hands away from being able to potentially write as I have the films on in the background.

The slew of reviews that will get published in the wake of this binge watch will be testimony to a simple truth. I’ve not been sure where the heck to actually start with re-writing my book. That was the case until I watched 27 dresses.

Weird thing to have actually prompted me to realise where I need to start, but in the film Jane collects articles of her favourite journalist. Somehow, in the bizarre way my brain works, I made the leap of logic from those collected newspaper articles to my own collected thoughts on writing that I’ve already shared with the world.

My Key to a Great Story blog series is where I already have shared my thoughts on writing. While in the majority of the blog I have constructed my thoughts on character creation, plots and world-building by looking at popular films and books, that was not universally the case. When I posted about the differences of writing in the first person, third person restricted and third person unlimited, I used my own writing. I’ve put my thoughts on writing out there in the world, and I even allowed some of the original writing I do seep into that as well.

And therefore I’ve figured out where I need to start – I need to look at my own advice and plan this blog series around what I’ve already told you what I think makes a good story.

Sounds like it should have been simple leap of logic to make, but as any writer will tell you, there is nothing simple about writing, and certainly not about re-writing.

 

 

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Book (Re)writing – How to lose the Plot! | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

