A Break from Blogging Reviews

Standard

vacation

So at the beginning of the year I caught an article on films to watch out for this year, and I planned my year of blogging reviews around that excitement.

So far it’s being going great, and I’ve done dozen of blogs this year reviewing films, tv series and books, old and brand new alike. I’ve been talking about fandoms and everything I’ve been watching and reading has gone on a list to blog about.

I now have a list of about 20 odds things I want to review that I’ve seen (note the word seen) in the last month or so, and I had planned for this week to be all about X-men.

Looking at this list has filled me with utter dread. I’ve already been having problems reading this year (See The Effect of a Bad Experience with a Book) I don’t want watching films and tv be added to that, so Young Writer’s Review is going on vacation for a while.

I have a lot going on in my personal life in the new couple of months, so I’m under enough pressure already. Blogging for me has never been about the stats, it has always been about the joy of expressing my opinion. At the minute that joy is gone and planning my reviews around new releases in the cinema makes me feel as if the stats are all I care about.

I also feel as if I have been taking the easy way out when it comes to my blog. Yes, I’ve been watching lots of films recently, but in the back of my mind I was thinking this is a blog post for a day. Ugh!

I started a Young Writer’s Notebook to be about writing and the life of a young writer and what influences me, not just reviewing. I’ve been lazy, and this vacation is my kick up the behind to get be properly thinking about writing again.

So the reviews are going to take a backseat, apart from the odd book review as it will be a part of getting me thinking about reading again, and I will be focusing on my writing blog again.

Look out for my posts on Book (Rewriting), and Young Writer’s Review will be back later in the year.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Book Review – The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein | A Young Writer's Notebook

  2. Pingback: I’m still here…just | A Young Writer's Notebook

  3. Pingback: A Young Writer’s Notebook – Reviewing 2016 | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

