Film Review – Mulholland Drive

Standard

mulholland-drive-1

So recently the BBC published a list of the greatest films of the 21st Century according to film critics. Being a film lover, I eagerly read the list, wondering which film will make the number one spot. You can read the list yourself here.

Now I was under no delusion about this list – sometimes critics agree with the public and sometimes they don’t, so I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the likes of Finding Nemo, Ratatouille and Amelie on the list near the bottom. Wouldn’t have even thought they would have made it, as they are pretty mainstream.

Then Only Lovers Left Alive appeared and I grinned even more as I love that film. Further and further down, past films I’d heard of but not seen yet because I haven’t had the chance, and others I know I won’t like (mainly Tarantino).

And then I got to Mulholland Drive, which I will hold my hands up and admit, that until last week when this list came out, I had never even heard of this film. Like no clue what so ever; I was just too young when it came out, and it just never appeared on my radar. So when I saw it was on Prime and I could stream it I jumped on the opportunity, to watch this film. Why? Because according to critics it is the best.

And also, after I made my ‘Plea from a Film Lover‘ last week  describing about how I feel the film industry is being slowly killed by franchise, I could hardly shrug off the suggestion that this original film is worth my time.

And you know what, I absolutely loved it.

I mean its definitely original, and absolutely bonkers, but I loved this film. I will admit that in the last quarter of the film I had completely lost track of what was going on, which left me feeling a bit lost when the credits suddenly appeared, but thinking about it afterwards, I very much know that was the point. The vast majority of the story line is mostly cohesive, but what this film does is blow your mind.

The first thing I immediately realised is why film critics like it. They watch a lot of films. They will get bored, and Mulholland Drive is not boring. The script is as tight as a drum; the acting is sublime; the cinematography is stunning to watch; and just as you think you’ve figured out what happening the direction of the film completely changes and the film surprises you right up to the last minute.

You also get great moments like when a husband pours paint all over a cheating wife’s jewelry box; the moment that Naomi Watt’s character Betty, a wannabe actress, who you think is riding on her Aunt’s coat tails, pulls out an audition performance that is so intense I hadn’t realised I’d held my breathe; and a moment when a hit-man properly messes up a job. I’m not even sure what that last one was even in the film for, but it doesn’t matter as it was good fun.

It is just brilliant. A bonkers, twin peaks-esque ‘love story set in a city of dreams’, to quote David Lynch the director. I highly recommend you set aside time to watch it, and be prepared to be on a roller coaster of plot.

There is nothing predictable about this film; I never would have predicted it being at the top of the film critics list for great films of the 21st Century, but I get why it is.

 

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

One response »

  1. Pingback: A Young Writer’s Notebook – Reviewing 2016 | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

