Book (Re)Writing – Re-Discover Inspiration

Standard

18FANTASTICBEASTS2-superJumbo.jpg

I wrote recently about finding the re-writing process of my book a lot tougher than I had imagined. I hadn’t been sure at the time really how to motivate myself again.┬áIt’s been pure chance that has re-inspired me, by re-discovering what inspired me in the first place.

It’s quite simple advice really for any time you get stuck writing, go back to the first idea you had, and try to remember why you found it so necessary to develop the idea further. Was it a particular character fault you wanted to develop? Was it a scene that you just knew would make a good story?

Go back to the simplest moment of your writing; the initial inspiration and see if that re-sparks your imagination and motivation.

What was mine you ask? That’s complicated because for me is isn’t a character or a plot that I had thought of that inspired my story, it was another writer and the world they created.

Let’s just say J.K. Rowling’s expansion of the Harry Potter universe this year, which for me started my going to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, followed by pretty much nose diving into the screenplay, and then finally getting around to picking up my copy of the Cursed Child has reminded me why I love to write. I know some fans aren’t happy about the expansion of the Harry Potter Universe – I am not one of them, because it has re-sparked my writing.

So if going back to the original idea you had doesn’t work, then go and find something out there you know you love and enjoy it. That might re-inspire you and if it doesn’t then at least be content in the knowledge you’ve devoted a couple of hours to something you love.

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Marvel Revisited | A Young Writer's Notebook

Leave a Reply

