Film Review – Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2

Standard

guardians_of_the_galaxy_vol_two

I have ignored the hype about this film; I watched the trailers only a couple of times, and just generally avoided getting excited about the film. I’ve been using my tried and tested method of going into the cinema with low expectations (it worked remarkably well for Assassin’s Creed), and given I’ve not been impressed of late with the MCU, I wanted to try and leave the cinema without having been disappointed.

Well I sort of succeeded, but I have had it confirmed for me that the MCU has indeed lost its power over me, because not even a Guardians of the Galaxy film could get me excited. I still absolutely love the first film; I think after the awful Civil War film, the Guardians of the Galaxy have supplanted Captain America and become my favourites from within the MCU, but the second film is just not as good as the first.

Sadly though I knew this was going to be the case before I saw it. The first film was a fresh slap in the face, and of all the protagonists within the MCU I feel like Peter Quill is the most relatable. However, because it was so fresh and new, I knew the second film could never be as good.

The thing is I don’t think it is a bad film, I’m just not in any rush to go and see it again. Gone are the days when I would be leaving the cinema and buying tickets for a showing the next evening so I could see it again as soon as possible. Genuinely I don’t think I’ll see this film again until the dvd release.

It is certainly spectacular, and the settings wonderfully created. The plot of the film was even paced, though I would argue it doesn’t really have a defining moment where your heart ends up in your throat. That might be because I’m not easily stirred when emotional moments are a bit predictable (and seriously they seeded the final scenes right at the beginning of the film, so if you know what you are looking for when it comes to foreshadowing, then you know where its going to end up).

The characters as well all reacted as expected to the plot of the film, and they all have a lovely development within the film. Baby Groot completely steals the show; hands down the best thing about the film. Completely adorable.

It is a brilliant film, and I’ve sure over time I will grow to love it, but if you’ve sensed a distinct lack of enthusiasm from this review, then you’d be right. By all means go and watch it; I strongly suspect you will love it a lot more than I do. But now having seen it, it has confirmed for me that my love affair with the MCU is well and truly over.

 

About kabrown4

A quaint life full of teacups searched for inspiration to fuel a writer dreaming of fantasy worlds that are full of friends found only in words. I have been writing for as long as I can remember and over the years I have developed many stories and many characters. This is my blog about the journeys I've been on over the years, and the road I'm still travelling as a writer.

4 responses »

  1. Interesting Post, Katherine!
    I knew any sequel cld not match th fresh and fun original, but I liked this a lot.
    Not sure if I will go back and watch it tomorrow.
    Even if it was as fantastic as Civil War 😉 I still wldn’t – can’t make th time @ th mo anyway!
    I know what u’re saying about getting tired w th MCU; Homecoming is NOT for me – w th recent spate of sequels and reboots, I am Spidered out!
    Here is my review if u’re interested:
    https://bradscribe.wordpress.com/2017/05/02/guardians-of-the-galaxy-vol-2-the-bradscribe-review/
    Cheers!

    • I mean like the sequel and it is a great film, but I’m just bored with the MCU – I’ll probably make it to the end of the Infinity Stone Arc but not much further and I won’t be going to see the Spiderman films. That does though have less to do with the MCU generally though. I don’t know what it is but I’ve just never liked the character. This goes as far back as pre-Tobey Macguire – I didn’t like the comics or the cartoons as a kid either.

Leave a Reply

